LMB

(redirected from Lois McMaster Bujold)
Also found in: Wikipedia.
Category filter:
AcronymDefinition
LMBLinear Motion Bearing (machinery)
LMBLower Mekong Basin (Southeast Asia)
LMBLeft Mouse Button
LMBLinear Memory Block
LMBLow Memory Block
LMBLego Master Builder
LMBLocal Master Browser
LMBLeague of Michigan Bicyclists (Lansing, MI)
LMBLois McMaster Bujold (science-fiction author)
LMBLarge-Mouth Bass
LMBLeave Me Be
LMBLucerna Music Bar (Prague, Czech Republic)
LMBLee Myung-bak (South Korean president)
LMBLake Murray Boulevard (California)
LMBLehrer McGovern Bovis, Inc. (now Bovis Lend Lease LMB, Inc.; New York, NY)
LMBLand of Medicine Buddha (Buddha-Dharma Center)
LMBLying Media Bastards (website)
LMBLightweight Matte Box (film industry)
LMBLeftist Marching Band (est. 2004; Portsmouth, NH)
LMBLifetime Maximum Benefit
LMBLow Maintenance Battery
LMBLondon Millennium Bridge
LMBLatin Music Booking
LMBLovemybus (VW bus community)
LMBLonely Moon Band (music group)
LMBLinear Momentum Balance
Copyright 1988-2018 AcronymFinder.com, All rights reserved.
References in periodicals archive ?
And as Lois McMaster Bujold has commented about her own Vorkosiverse, "series fiction [...] is difficult to teach within the time constraints of a semester" (Croft 2); the sheer mass of the Discworld series can make critical engagement with it, inside or outside of the classroom, a daunting task.
It is a duty of the living to do so for them." -- Lois McMaster Bujold
In the Lois McMaster Bujold science fiction series centered on the character Miles Vorkosigan, we see a number of different effects--good and bad--that arise from "uterine replicators." The replicators would allow an embryo to develop completely within an artificial womb--and show us some startling implications of human cloning and the genetic "enhancement" of human embryos.
Dr Lutener's favourites books: Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie; The Miles Vorkosigan series by Lois McMaster Bujold; Absolute Power by David Baldacci; The Crystal Singer by Anne McAffrey; Natural Born Charmer by Susan Elizabeth Phillips.
The two Canadians will be up against Americans Lois McMaster Bujold for 'Paladin of Souls' and Dan Simmons for 'Ilium', and Scottish author Charles Stross for his novel 'Singularity Sky', when the winner is announced on 5 September 2004 in Boston, reports the Toronto Star.
The most remarkable thing there is the number of women working truly excellent military background into their novels, including Elizabeth Moon, Lois McMaster Bujold and Holly Lisle.
Bill Clemente's conversation with Suzy McKee Charnas and Sylvia Kelso's correspondence with Lois McMaster Bujold provide insights into politics, autobiography, and creative process.
Tolkien (2004; winner of the Mythopoeic Society Award for Inklings Studies), has published articles on Tolkien and other topics in Mythlore, Mallorn, Tolkien Studies, and Seven, and is editor of several collections of essays: Tolkien on Film: Essays on Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings (2004), Tolkien and Shakespeare: Essays on Shared Themes and Language (2006), Lois McMaster Bujold: Essays on a Modern Master of Science Fiction and Fantasy (2013), and the forthcoming Baptism of Fire: The Birth of British Fantasy in World War I; and co-editor of Tolkien in the New Century: Essays in Honor of Tom Shippey (2014) and the forthcoming Perilous and Fair: Women in the Works and Life of J.R.R.
She illustrates her overview with brief focused discussions on Marion Zimmer Bradley's Darkover universe and Lois McMaster Bujold's Vorkosigan saga, and finishes with the increasing influence of female editors of the genre.
HUGO AWARD PALADIN OF SOULS: CHALION, #2 | LOIS MCMASTER BUJOLD
Although I find the layer of mythotherapy for disability much more salient in Lois McMaster Bujold's Vorkosigan series than in Donaldson, I know of a real-world AIDS activist whose work was continually inspired by the Chronicles.
With its military action and alien cultures, this novel will appeal to fans of John Ringo, David Drake, Lois McMaster Bujold, and David Weber.